Identification of Gifted Students

Identification is one of the most important stages in the preparation of gifted students programs, through which talented students are identified with a view to providing them with appropriate services and educational programs. These programs seek to meet their needs, challenge their abilities and work on their development. This process contributes to controlling the system of enrolling in programs for the gifted, supplement programs with the most worthy students for its special education services and determine the type and level of talent, which in turn helps to determine the needs of gifted students and guide them to programs most suited to develop their areas of competence.

Stages of Gifted Students Identification Process:

  1. Screening: This stage is designed to accommodate the largest possible number of students to engage in identification procedures to avoid getting caught in the dilemma of losing students eligible for care. This is achieved through a range of measures, including the nominations of students by teachers, parents and peers, or self-nomination. Screening methods include checklists, test results, portfolios, teacher reports and basic information.
  2. Narrowing: this stage aims to identify gifted students based on specific criteria by using qualitative and quantitative tools for students who have been nominated.
  3. Inclusion: the aim of this stage is to make decisions concerning assigning selected students in the second stage to educational programs that are in line with their abilities, preferences and interests. This is done via personal interviews and lists of inclinations and interests.

Criteria used in the identification of gifted students:

  1. IQ.                  
  2. Creativity.
  3. Academic achievement.    

Tools and criteria for identification of gifted students:

Firstly, quantitative tools:

  1. Measures of mental abilities (intelligence).
  2. Gifted Identification Kit.
  3. Academic achievement tests.
  4. Test the solution of problems in innovative ways.

Secondly, qualitative tools:

  1. Portfolio.
  2. Note card (behavioral aspects – leadership).
  3. Behavioral statements (Self– peer-teachers-parents).
  4. Personal interviews.
  5. Lists of professional interests and inclinations.

Talented Students Identification Kit

Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Distinguished Academic Performance seeks to discover and identify talented students through the provision of adequate identification tools that will identify those students and measure their different abilities. The Award started the project of preparing the Talented Students Identification Kit, in collaboration with talent experts, which aims to develop tools specifically designed to commensurate with the UAE environment and be globally recognized among the best practices in the field of talented education.

Our developed Tools:

The talented students will be identified through several stages of initial/field survey till the selection and identification of talented students. In each stage, measuring tools would be developed for such stage. In the of initial/field survey stage, the initial/field survey tools would be developed. In the nomination stage, tests kit for talented identification would be established and developed, containing tests to measure: motivation, abilities, learning as well as learning environment. As for the stage of selection and identification; the forms and personal interviews guide for talented and gifted students will be created in such stage.  

What distinguishes the Talented Students Identification Kit:

  • Globally-recognized identification tools.
  • Integrated kit that includes all identification stages scientifically and internationally recognized.
  • Tools that are standardized for the UAE's environment prepared by international experts in the field of talent.
  • The first integrated and comprehensive Talented Students Identification Kit at the State level.

Project Outcomes:

  • Preparing a Talented Students Identification Kit for the 4-6 grades in May 2016.
  • Preparing a Talented Students Identification Kit for the 7-8 grades in May 2017.
  • Preparing a Talented Students Identification Kit for the 9-10 grades in May 2018.

اكتشاف الطلبة الموهوبين

 تُعدّ عملية الكشف من أهم مراحل إعداد البرامج الخاصة بالطلبة الموهوبين ومن خلالها يتم التعرّف إلى الطلبة الموهوبين بهدف تقديم الخدمات والبرامج التربوية المناسبة لهم، وهذه البرامج تعمل على تلبية حاجاتهم وتتحدى قدراتهم وتعمل على تنميتها وتطويرها. وتسهم هذه العملية في ضبط نظام الالتحاق في البرامج الخاصة بالموهوبين، ورفد البرامج بأكثر الطلبة استحقاقاً للحصول على خدماتها التعليمية الخاصة، تحديد نوع الموهبة ومستواها، مما يساعد على تحديد حاجات الطلبة الموهوبين، وتوجيه الطلبة إلى البرامج الأكثر ملاءمةً لتنمية مجالات تميزهم.

مراحل عملية الكشف عن الطلبة الموهوبين:

  1. الترشيح:  تهدف هذه المرحلة الى استيعاب أكبر عدد ممكن من الطلبة للدخول في إجراءات الكشف تجنباً للوقوع في معضلة فقدان طلبة مستحقين للرعاية، من خلال مجموعة من الإجراءات من بينها ترشيحات الطلبة من قبل المعلمين وأولياء الأمور والأقران، أو الترشيح الذاتي، وتشمل وسائل الترشيح القوائم، ونتائج الاختبارات، وملفات الإنجاز، وتقارير المعلمين، والمعلومات الأساسية.
  2. الفرز:  تهدف هذه المرحلة إلى تحديد الطلبة الموهوبين بناءً على المحكات المحددة وذلك باستخدام أدوات كمية ونوعية من بين الطلبة الذين تم ترشيحهم.
  3. الاختيار: تهدف هذه المرحلة إلى اتخاذ قرارات بشأن تسكين الطلبة الذين تم فرزهم في المرحلة الثانية في البرامج التربوية بما يتناسب مع قدراتهم وميولهم واهتماماتهم، ويتم ذلك من خلال المقابلات الشخصية وقوائم الميول والاهتمامات.

المعايير المستخدمة في الكشف عن الطلبة الموهوبين :

  1. معيار الذكاء.                   
  2. معيار الابداع.
  3. معيار التحصيل الأكاديمي.    

أدوات ومقاييس الكشف عن الطلبة الموهوبين :

أولا: الأدوات الكمية:

  1. مقاييس القدرات العقلية (الذكاء).
  2. بطارية الكشف عن الموهوبين Gifted Identification Kit.
  3. اختبارات التحصيل الدراسي.
  4. اختبار حل المشكلات بطرق إبداعية.

ثانيا: الأدوات النوعية:

  1. سجل الإنجاز Portfolio.
  2. بطاقة الملاحظة ( الجوانب السلوكية – القيادة ).
  3. القوائم السلوكية ( ذاتية – الأقران – المعلمين – أولياء الأمور ).
  4. المقابلات الشخصية.
  5. قوائم الاهتمامات والاتجاهات المهنية.

حقيبة اكتشاف الطلبة الموهوبين

تسعى جائزة حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم للأداء التعليمي المتميز إلى اكتشاف الطلبة الموهوبين وذلك من خلال توفير أدوات اكتشاف مناسبة من شأنها التعرف على هؤلاء الطلبة وقياس قدراتهم المختلفة، حيث قامت بالبدء بمشروع إعداد حقيبة اكتشاف الطلبة الموهوبين بالتعاون مع خبراء الموهبة، والذي يهدف الى إعداد أدوات مصممة خصيصاً لتتلاءم مع بيئة دولة الامارات وتكون معترف بها عالمياً ضمن أفضل الممارسات في مجال تربية الموهوبين.

الأدوات التي نقوم بأعدادها:

سيتم اكتشاف الطلبة الموهوبين على عدة مراحل من المسح المبدئي/ الميداني إلى اختيار وتحديد الموهوبين من الطلبة في كل مرحلة تطوير أدوات قياس خاصة بتلك المرحلة، ففي مرحلة المسح المبدئي/ الميداني سيتم تطوير أدوات للمسح المبدئي/ الميداني، وفي مرحلة الترشيح سيتم بناء وتطوير بطارية اختبارات للكشف عن الموهوبين تحتوى على اختبارات لقياس كلا من: الدافعية، القدرات، التعلم وأيضاً بيئة التعلم، أما مرحلة الاختيار والتحديد فسيتم فيها بناء استمارات ودليل المقابلات الشخصية للطلبة الموهوبين.

ما يميز حقيبة اكتشاف الطلبة الموهوبين:

  • أدوات اكتشاف معترف بها عالميا ً.
  • حقيبة متكاملة تشمل جميع مراحل الاكتشاف المتعارف عليها علميا ً وعالميا ً.
  • أدوات مقننة على بيئة دولة الإمارات معدة من قبل خبراء دوليين في مجال الموهبة.
  • أول حقيبة اكتشاف للطلبة الموهوبين متكاملة وشاملة على مستوى الدولة.

مخرجات المشروع:

  • إعداد حقيبة اكتشاف للطلبة الموهوبين للصفوف 4-6 في مايو 2016.
  • إعداد حقيبة اكتشاف للطلبة الموهوبين للصفوف 7-8 في مايو 2017.
  • إعداد حقيبة اكتشاف للطلبة الموهوبين للصفوف 9-10 في مايو 2018.